Sheffield residents rescue 150 caged hens from being sent to slaughterhouse

Caged hens are usually exposed to constant artificial lighting and given high protein feed to encourage egg laying.

When their egg production starts to decline after one and a half years, they are sent to the slaughterhouse after living only a fraction of their natural 7-8 year lifespan.

Heeley City Farm volunteer, Sarah Wild, is hosting a re-homing event where members of the public are coming to give the birds a second chance of life.

Heeley City Farm in Sheffield is preparing for the arrival of 150 battery hens that have been rescued from a nearby farm.

Published by John K Cossee

I'm a freelance broadcast journalist and co-founder of Cuttlefish News. I was given my first opportunity as a news intern at WAMC Radio in New York, where I developed a passion for producing radio and television news. After earning a place on the Bauer Media Mentorship Scheme in 2019, I worked as a reporter for Hallam FM (Sheffield) and produced content for Kiss FM and Radio Aire (Leeds). I'm always keen get involved in my local community and hear from underrepresented voices.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started