Leftover waste in national parks expected to increase as lockdown restrictions are eased

The Peak District National Park is urging visitors to be more conscious of leaving litter as people flock to the countryside this weekend.

35 tons of waste is collected annually and about 80% of this is ‘clean litter,’ like wrappers and water bottles that are easily disposed of.

There is often and increase in leftover waste during the summer months, but the Peak District National Park has told us they are seeing much more than in previous years.

Tom Marshall says there it has worsened since lockdown restrictions have lifted.

Published by John K Cossee

I'm a freelance broadcast journalist and co-founder of Cuttlefish News. I was given my first opportunity as a news intern at WAMC Radio in New York, where I developed a passion for producing radio and television news. After earning a place on the Bauer Media Mentorship Scheme in 2019, I worked as a reporter for Hallam FM (Sheffield) and produced content for Kiss FM and Radio Aire (Leeds). I'm always keen get involved in my local community and hear from underrepresented voices.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started